Are you a Mac or a PC?

Do you remember these ads?

Confession: I am a PC user. I did own a mac once but it was before cross-comatibility was as good as it is now and it was a nightmare. There is still a bit of me though that buys into the Mac mantra, although the idea of joining the Apple cult makes me feel a little sick. One of the ideas these adverts rely on is that PC users are boring and old-fashioned, where as mac users are fun and work smart, not hard.

In Time Magaine, Jan 1997, Bill Gates (of Microsoft fame) is quoted as saying:

Just in terms of allocation of time resources, religion is not very efficient. There’s a lot more I could be doing on a Sunday morning.

You might ask why I’m bringing up a quote for 20 years ago, but it seems to be doing the rounds on Facebook again and it caught my attention. It also speaks into that time obsession associated with serious businesses. I have no desire to belittle Bill Gates; I don’t know him, and his foundation does some amazing things. On this quote though I take issue.

There are always other things one can do, yet do we say that about sunday lunch with our family, or date night with the wife? Do we see these as a waste of time, or an important investment in relationship? Sunday church is about relationship with one another, and our relationship with God. Sure, we could use it to feed the homeless or volunteer at a youth centre, but we must not forget to build our relationship with the one who sends us to do those things. Jesus addresses a similar mindset in Mark 14: 1-11.

God is also the one that will fix things. We might feed one hungry person, or listen to one hurting person, but we can never fix the underlying issue; only God can do that. Our world is severely unjust, something I am sure will be no surprise, because we are a people marked by sin. Only God can forgive sin and sanctify us. Have a look at Revelation 21:1-8 to see what things will be like one day. That’s a future that I want to see, and a future that I want to be included in. The great news is that we are all invited to join in by God himself, all we need do is say yes.

So sorry Bill. You are wrong here.  I can’t think of a better way to allocate my time on a Sunday morning. I’d rather be like a Mac and work smart, not hard.

 

Leave a Reply

